Institutional Advancement Staff

The Division of Institutional Advancement is an integrated team that is dedicated to furthering the mission of the University and engaging alumni, parents and the community in the Westfield State experience.

Together, the different units support students, faculty and staff through fundraising, communications and engagement of external constituencies in meaningful interactions that foster pride, advocacy and private support for the University. We also provide fundraising leadership through the stimulation and facilitation of healthy, productive and lifelong relationships with our colleagues, alumni, friends, foundations and corporations.

Our offices are located in the Horace Mann Center, 333 Western Avenue, Westfield, MA 01086.

Staff in Westfield State’s Division of Institutional Advancement are prepared to answer questions and assist you in determining how to fit your contribution to your own financial and philanthropic objectives.

Meet Our Team!

Dr. Erica Broman
Vice President, Institutional Advancement
Executive Director of Westfield State Foundation, Inc.
(413) 572-8644

Joanne M. Leighton 
Staff Assistant, Advancement
(413) 572-8811

Lisa G. McMahon
Director, Institutional Advancement and Stewardship
(413) 572-8645

Marnie Dacko
Major Gifts Officer
(413) 572-8648

Bill Hynes
Major Gifts Officer
(413) 572-8647

Ruthie Giles
Associate Director of Advancement Services
(413) 572-8489

Sara Borden
Advancement Services Coordinator
(413) 572-8654

Bonnie R. Hanson
Administrative Assistant II, Advancement
(413) 572-8631

Nicole Pratt
Administrative Assistant I, Advancement
(413) 572-8654

Kate Burke
Associate Director, Alumni Relations & Annual Fund
(413) 572-5404

Thomas H. Convery '78
Staff Assistant, Alumni Relations
(413) 572-8649

Cheri Baranowski
Administrative Assistant II, Alumni Relations
(413) 572-8652

Jennifer L. Zajac
Senior Annual Giving Coordinator
(413) 572-5228

Julie Lavoie
Graduate Assistant, Annual Fund
(413) 572-5228