Class of 2020 Graduates Honored for Academic Distinction

Despite the in-person Commencement ceremony postponement until spring 2021, the University has announced the graduates who earned academic distinction—four valedictorians, a salutatorian, and a Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence recipient. The University also announced the recipient of its highly regarded Dr. John F. Nevins Outstanding Educator Award.

Westfield State University Class of 2020 consisted of 838 undergraduates (including 95 from Continuing Education) and 179 graduate students.

Four members of the undergraduate Class of 2020 share the honor of valedictorian:

  • Julianna Campbell, an English major from Springfield, Mass.;
  • Carly Thibodeau, an economics and management/environmental science major from Mendon, Mass.;
  • Jessie Walton, a movement science major from Huntington, Mass.; and
  • Vita Yurovsky, a business management major from West Springfield, Mass.

Sarah Dunn, an elementary education/liberal studies major from Holden, Mass., was recognized as the class salutatorian.

The Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence was earned by Jason Richard, a criminal justice major from Granby, Mass.

More information here.