WSU Now a New Charter Member of AAAS SEA Change

SEA Change – the initiative of the American Association for the Advancement of Science to support colleges and universities as they systematically transform themselves into diverse, equitable, and inclusive institutions – is expanding its reach with the announcement of four new charter members across the country.

The new charter members are Arizona State University; the University of California, Irvine; the University of Florida; and Westfield State University. They join the first SEA Change charter members, announced in August, in a national network publicly committed to creating sustainable changes to recruit, retain and advance the full range of diverse talent in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and medicine.

SEA Change, short for STEMM Equity Achievement, supports institutions as they undergo a rigorous self-assessment process to interrogate their own culture, policies, and procedures that stand in the way of access and success for students, faculty, and staff from groups marginalized in STEMM. From this self-assessment, participating institutions create individualized action plans and carry out changes that break down barriers for those excluded or marginalized based on gender, race, ethnicity, disability status, or any other aspect of identity that has been a source of bias in STEMM.  

Learn more here.