Campus community celebrates success and thanks the Saigos

Hundreds of campus community members attended “A Celebration of Our Successes and a Farewell to Drs. Roy and Barbara Saigo” May 26 under a tent on the University Green.

Attendees enjoyed a complimentary picnic lunch and a small gift bag, assembled by the event committee, which included Joanne Bigelow, Dr. Claudia Ciano-Boyce, Lisa Ducharme, Michelle LeDoux, Ron’na Lytle, Dr. Juline Mills, Lisa McMahon, Tricia Oliver, and Dr. Karen Sladyk. The Westfield State Foundation assisted with the costs associated with the celebration.

Fr. Warren Savage provided an invocation to open the event. The Saigos were thanked for their leadership, with remarks from Trustee Robert Martin, Provost Mills and union representatives Dr. Claudia Ciano-Boyce (MSCA), Ron’na Lytle (AFSCME), and Junior Delgado (APA).

Both Barbara and President Saigo each addressed those in attendance and watching on Zoom to thank the Westfield State community for their support and for the friendships formed during their time at the University.

The ceremony also included a formal announcement of the Saigos’ partnership with the Westfield State Foundation to create the  Roy and Barbara Saigo Endowment for Faculty and Staff Excellence,  established to encourage and assist faculty and staff with scholarly and creative activities, including professional presentations, performances, exhibitions, research, and creative endeavors and publications.  

If you would wish make a gift to the “Saigo Endowed Fund,” please visit

To view the online thank you card to the Saigos signed by members of the campus community, click here.

Earlier in May, Wednesday, May 5, a virtual Student Farewell and Thank You Event for Interim President Saigo was held. Student Government Association President Samuel Tsongalis recited a resolution that the SGA Executive Council later presented in-person to Dr. Saigo. Pictured (L-R) are SGA Vice President of Student Life Aaron Lessing, President Saigo, and SGA Vice President of Academic Life Lyric Lamagdelaine.