Nine Students Recognized with the WSU President’s Award for Excellence in Leadership

Westfield State University has recognized nine students for their academic excellence, leadership, and service to the community with the President’s Award for Excellence in Leadership. 

Click here for the pre-recorded award ceremony.

The nine outstanding students were selected among 33 applicants this year, and they have a combined GPA of 3.88. The 2020 award recipients include: 

  • Erica Burton ’21, environmental science major, Merrimac, Mass.
  • Meaghan Davis ’21, English major, Bellingham, Mass.
  • Elizabeth Ferrara ’21, psychology and art major, Merrimac, Mass.
  • Olivia Houde ’21, regional planning major, Fiskdale, Mass.
  • Idil Hussein ’21, biology and psychology major, West Springfield, Mass.
  • Mia McDonald ’22, economics and business management major, Westfield, Mass.
  • Fiona O’Sullivan ’21, social work major, Ludlow, Mass.
  • Maninder Singh ’22, environmental science and regional planning major, Northampton, Mass. 
  • Gabrielle Trudeau ’21, computer science and mathematics major, West Springfield, Mass.

Created in 2007, the President’s Award for Excellence in Leadership recognizes the achievements of highly qualified students. Student recipients must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.3 or higher and demonstrate an array of volunteer services performed in the local community and at Westfield State University. Along with an essay, students are required to complete an application listing their co-curricular activities, the leadership groups they belong to, and details of their volunteer participation. 

Learn more about the award recipients here.